Checking Out

I’m tightly wound. It’s a fact. I’m not sure if it is my wish or expectation that when I go on vacation that fact magically changes and I’m able to immediately unwind. It doesn’t work that way.

We’ve been on vacation for four days and I’m mostly unwound. Last night we sat around the tiniest of kitchen tables with seven adults on a mish mash of chairs and only six real forks eating food prepared with my hands. My people, my love, my place of peace.

I’m incredibly grateful that my place of peace is durable, flexible, and accommodating. It is not a specific location,  event, or experience. It is portable and I take it with me where ever I go with my people.

The six other people at the table most certainly have six different versions of their happy place, but they generously joined me in mine, holding space for me as my heart filled up until it nearly burst. As I was filled with joy, laughter, thankfulness, love, companionship, and grace, there wasn’t room for the stress I carried with me.

As this new day dawns, quite literally before my very eyes, I’m going to keep working on checking out, because we only go on family vacation once a year. It has to keep for a while. My sweet little bedheads have just started stirring and I haven’t had coffee yet, so I’m going to do that instead. I think we all might try enjoying the stillness of the beach in the early morning.

My wish for you today is that you visit your place of peace or your people and celebrate today.

2 thoughts on “Checking Out

  1. I am most happy that you have place and time to unwind. I just did with Phyllis and Mark on their sail boat and will again next week at Mt. Carmel. You might take a small reminder home with you to keep on your desk at work to remind your body, mind and spirit of how it feels to unwind. I brought home from the Apostle islands carin rocks and an eagle feather. Sending unlimited love to all. Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

